Public Interest

New Plumbing and Fire Sprinklers Award 2020

The Plumbing and Fire Sprinklers Award 2010 is to be replaced by the Plumbing and Fire Sprinklers Award 2020.

In late 2020, the Fair Work Commission concluded the 4 Year Review of the Plumbing and Fire Sprinklers Award 2010 (Plumbing Award 2010).  As a consequence, the Plumbing and Fire Sprinklers Award 2020 (Plumbing Award 2020) will replace the Plumbing Award 2010. 

When will it take effect?

The Plumbing Award 2020, will commence operation on the first pay period on or after 1 March 2021.

What’s changed?

In comparing the Plumbing Award 2020, to the Plumbing 2010, there are a number of changes between the two (2) documents. 

  • The vast majority of the changes are cosmetic; in that the clauses in the Plumbing Award 2020 have been renumbered and ordered or structured differently to the order or structure that was used in the Plumbing Award 2010.  
  • The terms and conditions of employment contained therein remain fundamentally the same as those prescribed in the Plumbing Award 2010.

Where can I find a copy?

  • Keep an eye out on this link for when the award is published or through the members portal on the Master Plumbers Website.

Want to know more?

Master Plumbers is running ‘Know Your Plumbers Award’ courses in 2021, with options for remote attendance.

Please register your interest in attending by email to Phil Eberhard and we will provide information on times and locations as they become available.

Have questions?

Should you have any questions please contact Phil Eberhard on 0425 790 722.

Argent_April 21


Argent_April 21


Related articles